Fair warning

Tonight the husband and I went out with some of his coworkers from the district office, as something of a farewell dinner. It was a very nice night, though I imagine that the lonely district coworker, who arrived nearly an hour before the rest of the group, might have other words to describe the meal he ended up eating alone, surrounded by menus and empty chairs.

One of the husband’s other colleagues mentioned an editor position available at a think tank in the state and when we got home, I sent this letter of interest to the contact named on the post:

Hello Mr. M,

I’m extremely interested in the managing editor position available with XXXXXXXX and I’m wondering if it is work that can be done remotely. My husband and I are moving to Washington, D.C. next week for his work with Congress and I am seeking a way to continue my communications career in our state despite the distance. Right now I work as a communications manager for the XXXXXXX House of Representatives.

Also, the posting for this position uses the wrong affect/effect in one of the Core Responsibilities bullet points. In “understand and accurately describe complex public policy issues, their affects on residents’ lives and proposed XXXXX solutions,” affects should be effects, a simple confusion of verb vs. noun.

Please let me know if this is work that can be done from a distance and I will happily submit my cover letter, resume, and a writing sample.

Thank you very much, and have a wonderful Thanksgiving!
Redwhiteandnew

Don’t use the wrong word in a job advertisement for an editor and expect me to sit quietly by as long as I am without work in DC. The internet and all hiring managers should consider this fair warning. As should congressmen. (For details, see Excuse me, is my opinion showing?)

I did get a nice rejection email today from a company that I forgot about applying to some weeks ago. No really, it was nice. I have a feeling that more of this–being turned down by an organization I hardly remember asking out in the first place–is going to happen as October’s open positions close and are filled by other candidates.

Days until takeoff: Still 8.

One thought on “Fair warning

  1. Let’s hope that was a tricky mistake MEANT to elicit such a response. I feel like that would be the kind of sneaky company you would love to work for (or “for which you would love to work,” depending on how you feel about sentences ending with prepositions).

Shout at me.

