Goodnight moon…

Our last night in the little carriage house.

Goodnight room…

All the frames are off the walls, standing up in a box, waiting for their turn to be loaded into the moving truck tomorrow and leaned against new walls in a new home.

goodnight moon…

Last night I emailed our new landlady and asked about access to the apartment, for furniture moving purposes. Turns out the 90 degree turn at the top of the stairs has been “possible for 5′ and 6′ couches” and that was all we needed to hear to know that our 8′ 6″ espresso brown gem needed to find a new home, and fast. Some good friends of ours showed interest in it the other week, and her parents picked it up tonight, leaving us a check that will pay for the new tires we need before we drive.

goodnight bears, goodnight chairs…

With half our furniture gone, we are confident that everything will fit in the 10′ truck we reserved. A friend who helped us tonight laughed when we mentioned the size of our rental. The husband asked how I feel about being able to fit our material life into 380 square feet. I feel better about driving on the Pennsylvania turnpike, that’s how.

goodnight kittens, goodnight mittens…

While the husband worked his last day in the district office, I did a thousand things to get ready to leave, apart from the packing. Utilities are transferred, the post office has our new address, the key hand-off is coordinated, online banking is set up at our new credit union, my tickets to come back for work next week are reserved, furniture is sold, laundry is clean, dishwasher is empty, car is wiped out and floor mats washed, and the pile of taped and labeled boxes in the corner grows by the hour.

goodnight clocks and goodnight socks…

One of the pieces that went to a good home was the husband’s dresser so he is packing all of his clothes in the empty luggage we have. For his sake, I hope Ikea does not disappoint.

goodnight little house and goodnight mouse…

Tomorrow is more packing, loading the truck, a few more errands, new tires and an oil change, and another load of laundry. As much for his sake as for our own, Dietrich is going to dog camp for the day. I hope he gets five tail wags again.

goodnight comb and goodnight brush…

The other middle and Nephew 2 are coming over in the morning. They are bringing donuts, we are supplying the coffee. I have already decided that the things riding in the front seat with me are the coffee pot, a measuring tape, and the checkbook. Priorities.

goodnight nobody, goodnight mush…

Our dear friends and neighbors came over tonight for wine and company before we go. She showed me how to Skype on my iPhone. He took the husband to get Wendy’s. They took home the flowers and herbs I had in the window, and the apples left in the fruit bowl. I let my eyes have one tear each while they prayed for us and our journey.

and goodnight to the old lady whispering ‘hush’…

This home, this quiet little space in the city, which often feels like living in a fairy tale, will welcome new people and make it hard for them to leave when the time comes, too.

goodnight stars…

I’m sad to leave friends and this little house.

goodnight air…

I’m excited about what is next, and greeting it with the husband. Days until takeoff: <1.

goodnight noises everywhere.

5 thoughts on “Goodnight moon…

  1. I know I’m a little late to comment on this one, but Bear actually had to take my phone away so I couldn’t finish reading it when we were out because I was crying too hard. :/ Perfectly done, though. Of course.

  2. Beautifully done. I love it when you showcase your true writing ability like this…though I hate it when you move hundreds of miles away to live a fabulous life in which you’ll quickly forget all your boring old Michigan friends.

    At least I’ll still be able to read your lovely words no matter where you are!

    Here’s the contact info. for your nearest California Pizza Kitchen – I think it’s less than a mile away. I will be praying hard for you guys for safe travels and a safe & clean new apartment, and I’ll picture you happily eating some CPK tomorrow night. πŸ™‚

    Pentagon Centre
    1201 S. Hayes St., Suite F
    Arlington, VA 22202
    (703) 412-4900

  3. My favorite childhood book. I wore out two copies of it. I knew there was a reason I like you πŸ˜‰
    Additionally, this post should come with a warning label: “Caution: Will cause mild tear-up while at work.”
    Ikea will have everything you need to make your 380 sq. ft. space feel cozy and spacious at the same time. Trust me! Best of luck today and tomorrow to you and The Hubby. In no time at all, you’ll be back here visiting and no sooner than that will we all be out in DC visiting you! I’ll be thinking of you and praying for a safe and smooth moving day!

  4. Don’t forget a roll of toilet paper, a few paper towels, and a bar of soap in the front seat. When you get to your new home, you will not want to have to make a Target run (or sort through the entire truck for supplies) *before* you make a bathroom stop. Oh – and next time I am @ Ikea, I will take good notes in their “living in under 300 sq ft” display! πŸ˜€

  5. I’m looking forward to living DC vicariously through you. And glad you posted about address changes and such, because that reminds me that I will need to do that and I hadn’t put it on the list yet. It’s on now.

Shout at me.

