It’s the little things

Last night I went to bed so the husband could wrap my Christmas presents on the other end of the shoebox and still maintain some mystery. When he was done, he came in to tell me good night.

The husband: All wrapped! And I got them on the first try, too.
Me: The first try? Do you normally give gift-wrapping a few drafts?
The husband: More often than not, especially for your gifts. I want them to look nice.

Well there I have it. You can live with someone through multiple gift-giving seasons and not find out for years that that person practices wrapping your gifts so that they are just-so.

When decorating for Christmas the other day, I was determined that my favorite ornament would be displayed, someway, somehow. I hung it from the edge of our pendant lamp, where the light catches it just right and I can see it from anywhere in the shoebox.

While working at the desk under said lamp, I noticed, for the first time in over 20 years of looking at this ornament, that it is translucent. The delicate swirls and swooshes on the back are visible through the fragile smoked glass indent on the front. Who knew? Even an old favorite like this gem can surprise.

An extremely sensitive press release I had to write today was approved by the House legal counsel with no changes on my first draft. The boss texted then, “good job, he is difficult to impress :)” and I think I actually chirped with glee.

Even when you think you’re doing a good job, even when you know you’re pretty good at what you do, a virtual pat on the back goes a long way. A simple “i like this a lot as is” can make a perfectly fine day a good one.

Working from home during the Christmas season means that I am here when the daily packages arrive for us or someone else in the house. I pop out of the basement like a prairie dog from a hole when I hear a truck rumble up in front of the house. Fortunately, today I had to send one and chose the UPS Store for my postal and social needs. I highly recommend them. The UPS guys, not needs.

The friendly young man helping me out even added extra stamps to two of my envelopes at no charge, “just to be sure.” Chivalry–and customer service–are not dead.

These are little things. And they are what give dimension to life.

Shout at me.

