It’s like I know what I’m doing or something!

I forgot to mention that the other week two different people stopped me in two different locations to ask me for directions.

Pretty sure I grew an inch each time.

The first person flagged me down as I crossed the street in Old Town Alexandria and asked if I knew how to get to the Target on US 1 from where we were. Why yes, yes I do, I told her, and gave her simple, you’d-think-I-was-a-native directions to the very Target at which I shop. And from which one can see the Washington Monument, by the way.

The second person stopped me as I walked down a street and asked me if I knew how to use the parking meters that print parking receipts you are supposed to display on the right side of your dash. I did, in fact, know how to work the machine, which is a little different from the other receipt meters in the area. I knew because I had blundered my way through it an hour earlier, but he didn’t need to know that. He hadn’t asked. He just wanted to know if I knew how to make it work, and the answer to that was yes.

Look at me go. It’s as if I know what I’m doing around here.

Then this morning Dietrich ate a bird in the backyard and I realized, upon finding a pillow’s worth of gray feathers in the middle of the lawn and a dog gagging in the garden, that some things are beyond even the most urban-aware of us. Sigh.

Normal height again.

3 thoughts on “It’s like I know what I’m doing or something!

  1. This reminds me of my second week at work. A whole bunch of new staff was hired at the same time I was, and I experimented with how long I could go before they found out I’d only been working there a week longer than they had. Since then, blundering my way through it just before somebody else needs to know has practically been my modus operandi.

  2. you are too funny. we’ve lived here for 5ish years (omg) and I still have no clue. that whole 395/pentagon city area scares the bajesus out of me. we’ve ended up at the holocaust museum accidentally a few times now. we should meet up, have a coffee (or hot chocolate or tea) and commiserate preferably at a location we are both witting of 🙂

Shout at me.

