This child may be a naked child

I am rarely overwhelmed. Or whelmed, which supposedly means overcome and therefore to say overwhelmed is to say overovercome, according to my 12th grade English teacher, who looked like a suitcase.

But then I got pregnant and have to decide what to dress my child in after she is born and I’m feeling a new sort of panic. One would think the husband could help, but this is one area in which my incredible husband actually provides almost zero assistance, since “one of everything!” was his battle cry when we registered at Target last week.

Now, part of this I brought on myself by setting up two registries, but don’t a lot of people do that, without mental strain? Since a lot of things are seasonal or not available online, I can’t log in to each registry, see what I have chosen, and then fill in the gaps accordingly because half the items are cryptically named and have no image online. I do know that the precious Dumbo onesies we chose for the oyster are sold out online and not available in stores, so now I’m concerned that all my daughter will have to wear when she arrives is 14 different pajama sets (I haven’t put any sleep sacks on there–ahh! Ahh??) and a hooded bath towel. Plus tiny boots I picked out for her for the winter months.

Lots of websites and stores offer lists of basic baby necessities that include quantities of things like hats, onesies, long-sleeved onesies, zip onesies, short-sleeved onesies, snap onesies, white onesies, gender-specific onesies, all-weather onesies, onesie sets, and organic dye-free bamboo hand-wash onesies, all of which are considered necessities. Even the simpler lists, the ones that say “6 short-sleeved onesies” and “4 long-sleeved onesies” get inside my head because what if I pick out the basics then add too many onesies of the same kind to the other registry? I put the same little colored toy links on both registries already and I did that on purpose. If people see that I have chosen 1,008 onesies of different sizes and shapes between two registries before the baby is even born and they think I did that on purpose, they’re going to put me on reality TV. Waah.

Then again, what if I end up only choosing the onesies that are seasonal/temporary and then everything is sold out by the time any buying happens? Do I add more than we need and leave room for things to go out of stock?

Yesterday I realized and pointed out to the husband that our daughter has no pants or socks. I feel that both of these articles are vital to the proper dressing and care of a child, but what kind should I even pick for her? Cute tiny jeans, or will those squeeze her belly? What if I pick out a bunch of 3 month-sized stretchy pants and she’s a 12 lb baby, ready to wear 6 month clothing after we bring her home? And do babies need coats?

Maybe I’m over thinking it, but I don’t want people to misconstrue a huge registry as a manic grab for all things baby. As a result, the oyster will probably have small registries consisting of a humidifier shaped like an elephant, tiny boots, and the hooded bath towel. If there’s way to let all registry viewers know that I have no idea what we need and only a few ideas of what we don’t need, that would be ideal and would look something like this:

“Thank you for viewing the little oyster’s registry! She is a girl who will love all bright colors and animals. And books, of course. We’re not sure what she will need for clothing once she’s born, so if you have kids of your own, please use your own experience as a guide. If heartburn indicates a baby with hair, we’ll be delivering a sasquatch in September, so clothes might be optional after all. Again, books are always a good idea. And so is wine. We could all benefit from some of that right about now.”

Sheesh. I like to think I have more control than this.

11 thoughts on “This child may be a naked child

  1. Everything Gerber runs small in clothes – from onesies to blanket sleepers. We didn’t do many stiff clothes at all, so we had LOTS of soft stretchy pants (add to a cute shower-gift printed or embroidered onesie and there’s an outfit) and saved the jeans for, well, your wedding. I found that collars, hoods, zips, stiff fabrics and anything that fastened up the back was more trouble than it was worth until the little folks could hold themselves upright. (The thing about collars, the decorative flappy kind, is that babies always end up spitting up on them and then you have a soaking, sour-smelling flap of fabric right next to the little baby cheeks when you lie them down.) Oh – and we didn’t have sleep sacks until #3 but they are nice. You should register for some. We used Kiddopotamus SwaddleMe for the other two – I have some you can have, fleece and lightweight knit.

      • Basically. Swaddling holds their arms still until they lose the startle reflex and stop waking themselves up by doing it (about 4 months). Sleep sacks are useful for longer but don’t hold the arms snug to the baby on their own. Ask K. C used them all the time. They’re cozier than sleepers but not dangerous like loose blankets.

        Circo is hit-and-miss on quality – loved some, ditched others. But sizing is good. Somebody told me the more expensive brands size smaller so you have to keep buying… may be true. Hit the resale shop, if so!

  2. I agree with what Cara said. And take it or leave it, but I HATE the gerber onesies. We got a bunch free from Brandon’s boss and I gave most of them away. They run small and the fabric isn’t soft. I LOVE the Carter’s ones. They run true to size and don’t shrink like crazy in the wash. All you’ll need is long sleeve and short sleeve ones in white :). And then you can let people buy you the gender specific stuff you’ll also want/need (like pink onesies with flowers all over them or pants with ruffles on the butt).

    I have oodles of baby girl clothing and some of it is the wrong season for the oyster, but if you’d like to take a peek at my TUBS of clothes, just let me know when you’ll be in town :).

    • good to know about gerber v. carters, thank you! i took the white gerbers off the target registry and will just keep my eyes out for the soft ones that won’t shrink. win-win!

      i wish we were going to be in town soon but we’re not. good thing we get to keep our little girls forever, and i know where to find you guys! 😀

      • Full agreement re: Gerber running small. Carter’s rocks. Circo brand from Target was true-to-size for C, who started out on the large side. 🙂 Also sturdier than Gerber.

  3. Good news: you don’t need all this tomorrow. Or even the day the baby is born. Or for a week after that. Better news: Stores will be open all of those days, plus the ones in between. AND there are already about sixty thousand people in her life who are excited to buy girl-specific items for a change. Register for what you like, return what you get too much of, and look forward to a mom’s day out sans kiddo to pick up a few things once she’s here.

  4. Oh, dear, do not fret. All will be well and if anyone thinks you’re crazy based on the oyster’s registry, then someone has truly gotten to know you through a registry–what an accomplishment! Kidding, of course. Given the size of you and your hubby, I doubt you’ll have a giant baby, so just get some newborn things. I personally didn’t like my babies drowning in over sized clothes/ sleepers, so they spent the first 2 weeks of life in newborn sizes but I doubt you’ll need them for more than 2 weeks. And no, you’re baby won’t need a coat. Given the time of year when she is born I would suggest to just get one of those insulator things that go around the car seat and keep her snuggled up in there (quick add it to the registry!!), unless you plan on taking her sledding or outside the car seat a lot.
    Love reading your blog…it’s like talking with you, which isn’t as good as the real thing but it gets the same “you” vibe 🙂
    Cara Iedema

Shout at me.

